Liner notes from Bar/None's upcoming "Merry Christmas From The Space Age Bachelor Pad" (AHOAN-083), a Christmas 1996 release. Our thanks to Ken and the whole gang at Bar/None and Bro. Cleve.

Download a sound sample!

Back To Side A

To the Esquivel! Special

Zu-Zu-Zoom away through the galaxies with this collection of holiday favorites from the past, present, and future. The master of Space Age Bachelor Pad Music - Juan Garcia Esquivel! - is here to add his special flair to your Christmas season. Mingle 'round your tinsel-draped Sputnik, flick on the twinkling lights, fix up a libation if you like, and let Esquivel's otherwordly sounds transport you into Santa's saucer, high in the stratosphere on Christmas eve.

Esquivel recorded these yuletide tracks between 1959 and 1962. The majority of them are culled from the '59 release, "The Merriest of Christmas Pop," a fairly elusive Christmas LP that featured 6 tracks by Esquivel, and 6 by Ray Martin. Featured on some of the tracks was the vocal quintet The Skip Jacks, which boasted the vocal talents of a young Stella Stevens (along with Estella Mann, Morris Redding, Ron Martin, and leader Bill Bronson). Also included in the collection is a heretofore "lost" Esquivel recording, "I Feel Marvelous" (from the Broadway musical "Redhead.") This was originally released as the B-side of the 45rpm single of "Whatchamacallit" (which you can hear on Bar/None's release, "Space Age Bachelor Pad Music"). This rare recording is so obscure, even Esquivel himself had forgotten about recording it. While not a traditional holiday tune, we hope it will add to the spirit and cheer contained herein. Feliz Navidad, baby, and Feliz Ano Nuevo, too.

-Brother Cleve

Sleigh Ride

In a Pousse-Cafe glass, carefully layer the following ingredients in order. Pour slowly over the bottom side of a spoon to achieve the layering effect.

Track Listing

  1. Jingle Bells (Greetings from Esquivel!)
  2. White Christmas
  3. Here Comes Santa Claus
  4. Parade of the Wooden Soldiers
  5. The Christmas Song
  6. Frosty the Snowman
  7. Snowfall
  8. Sun Valley Ski Run
  9. Blue Christmas
  10. Santa Claus Is Comin' to Town
  11. I Feel Merely Marvelous
  12. Auld Land Syne (Adios from Esquivel!)

Compilation produced by Brother Cleve

Original recordings produced by Lee Schapiro

(2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10), Johnnie Camacho (4, 8, 11) and Albums, Inc.

[Bill Stewart] (7)

Tracks 1 & 12 by Br. Cleve & His Lush Orchestra, narrated by Juan Garcia Esquivel! featuring The Millionaire: lap steel guitar.

David Moore: musical saw, the vocal stylings of The Esqui-Pades (Miss Lily Banquette, The Millionaire, Br. Cleve)

Produced and Arranged by Br. Cleve

recorded by Br. Cleve & Ducky Carlisle; Esquivel recorded by Annette Fradera

Track 7 produced under licence from Warner Bros. Records Inc.